In Commemoratione Omnium Defunctorum Qui Sub Regula Sancti Patris Nostri Benedicti Militaverunt

In the Cistercian and Benedictine orders November 14th is the Commemoration of all the departed souls of the monks and nuns who lived (or “fought” [militaverunt] as the breviary puts it) under the Rule of Our Holy Father St Benedict. I celebrated a Requiem Mass (OF) on the high altar of the parish Church in Trumau. During Mass I thought of all my departed confréres whom I knew: admodum rev. PP. Alban (who died before I entered the monastery, but whom I met when I was a guest), Adolf, Cornelius, Sighard, Ansgar, Franz, Alberich, Raynald, and Gottfried.

I also thought of the persons killed in Paris yesterday (though as far as I know none of them lived according to the Holy Rule). The collect for the Mass addresses us to the the divine mercy, which we never invoke without hope: “Deus, cui numquam sine spe misericodiae supplicatur.” Coincidentally, the Islamic State’s statement on the Paris attacks also begins with a reference to the mercy of God: “Au nom d’Allah le Tout Miséricordieux, le Très Miséricordieux.” I’m afraid that reminds me of Hilaire Belloc’s book, The Mercy of Allah.

Leave a Reply

