Sancrucensis

Pater Edmund Waldstein's Blog


‘Reasoning is worse than scolding’

david copperfield housekeeping

I have been listening to an audiobook of David Copperfield, and one scene reminded me of the moral laxism promoted by certain contemporary ecclesiastics. In the scene David is trying to persuade Dora to be stricter with the servant, but she will have none of it:

‘No, no! please!’ cried Dora, with a kiss, ‘don’t be a naughty Blue Beard! Don’t be serious!’

‘My precious wife,’ said I, ‘we must be serious sometimes. Come! Sit down on this chair, close beside me! Give me the pencil! There! Now let us talk sensibly. You know, dear’; what a little hand it was to hold, and what a tiny wedding-ring it was to see! ‘You know, my love, it is not exactly comfortable to have to go out without one’s dinner. Now, is it?’

‘N-n-no!’ replied Dora, faintly.

‘My love, how you tremble!’

‘Because I KNOW you’re going to scold me,’ exclaimed Dora, in a piteous voice.

‘My sweet, I am only going to reason.’

‘Oh, but reasoning is worse than scolding!’ exclaimed Dora, in despair. ‘I didn’t marry to be reasoned with. If you meant to reason with such a poor little thing as I am, you ought to have told me so, you cruel boy!’

Dora’s opposition to reason with its apparently harsh demands is clearly infantile. She doesn’t want to have any unpleasantness, but the unpleasantness that follows from her indulgence toward servants, and her refusal to be reasoned with on the subject, ends up being much greater than any unpleasantness that might have followed from being a little stricter to the servants. Later in the novel her indulgence leads to a servant being transported to Australia for stealing her watch. This leads David to the following reflection:

‘My darling girl,’ I retorted, ‘I really must entreat you to be reasonable, and listen to what I did say, and do say. My dear Dora, unless we learn to do our duty to those whom we employ, they will never learn to do their duty to us. I am afraid we present opportunities to people to do wrong, that never ought to be presented. Even if we were as lax as we are, in all our arrangements, by choice—which we are not—even if we liked it, and found it agreeable to be so—which we don’t—I am persuaded we should have no right to go on in this way. We are positively corrupting people. We are bound to think of that. I can’t help thinking of it, Dora. It is a reflection I am unable to dismiss, and it sometimes makes me very uneasy. There, dear, that’s all. Come now. Don’t be foolish!’

As Fr Hunwicke recently remarked, “Anti-intellectualism is a stance people very often adopt when they propose to do something irrational,” and it is even more the stance that people adopt one when they do not want to have the unpleasantness of being rationally strict with others. But in the long run such a stance always leads to misery. Happiness can only come from conforming human life to right reason, and a cowardly and infantile refusal of the demands of reason leads to misery in this life, and eternal punishment in the next.



5 responses to “‘Reasoning is worse than scolding’”

  1. […] Waldstein, O.Cist., “Reasoning is worse than scolding,” Sancrucensis  (blog), Nov. 8, […]

    Like

  2. […] interesting lesson from Charles Dickens’ David Copperfield… https://sancrucensis.wordpress.com/2015/11/14/reasoning-is-worse-than-scolding/ […]

    Like

  3. Why do integralist, traditionalist and right-leaning Catholics so resent the reasonable scolding that Pope Francis sometimes has opportunely given them? it was their turn to receive a little salutary scolding and they should be thankful. Is this not in Father Hunwicke’s words “a cowardly and infantile rejection of the demands of reason”?

    Like

  4. I wish to soften what I have written above, because I don’t think that Francis has scolded very often, but has made reasonable criticisms, which are taken as scoldings. Pope Benedict both with traditionalists AND with progressives was rather like a tolerant and loving father who prefers to look at the positive side of his children. That can also be a wise way of acting.

    Like

  5. […] “The Soul in the Novel: From Daniel Defoe to David Foster Wallace;” “Reasoning is worse than scolding;” “On Weddings in Novels;” “Prayer Begins in Pointlessness and […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.